Zarrow Award-Winning Children's Book Author Kathryn Lasky

Tulsa, OK – On today's ST, a conversation with children's book author Kathryn Lasky, the winner of this year's Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Reader's Literature (which is given by the Tulsa City-County Library's Tulsa Library Trust). Lasky's works include the popular fantasy series, "The Guardians of Ga'Hoole," as well as many stand-alone books of historical fiction and non-fiction. The author talks about growing up with a healthy dose of history, science, and biology, and about creating works with backdrops as varied as the destruction of Pompeii and the polio epidemics of the 1950s. Lasky will receive her award this weekend at the TCCL's Central Branch (at 4th and Denver); for more information, visit