Warning Against Gouging

Oklahoma City, OK – Price gouging law in effect in 26 Okla. counties
Associated Press

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) Oklahoma Attorney General Scott Pruitt says a state law that prohibits price gouging during an emergency is now in effect in 26 counties.

Pruitt said the Emergency Price Stabilization Act went into effect for the counties covered under Gov. Mary Fallin's state of emergency declaration.

The counties included are Atoka, Carter, Coal, Creek, Custer, Delaware, Harper, Johnston, Latimer, LeFlore, Lincoln, Love, Marshall, Murray, Okfuskee,

Okmulgee, Osage, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Rogers, Seminole, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington and Woodward.

The price gouging statute prohibits an increase of more than 10 percent in the price of most goods and services when a state of emergency has been declared and remains in effect for 30 days after the emergency for goods, services, dwelling units or storage space.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press.