Our Gadgets, Ourselves -- "Children of the New World: Stories"

Oct 28, 2016

Is technology taking over and/or fundamentally changing and/or worsening our lives? It's a debatable question...or series of questions...but, for whatever it's worth, there do seem to be more and more books and novels and TV shows these days in which technological devices are taking over, fundamentally changing, or even, yes, worsening our lives as human beings. On this edition of our show, we speak about such with Alexander Weinstein, the director of the Martha’s Vineyard Institute of Creative Writing; his short stories have been widely published, and have been nominated for Pushcart Prizes. Weinstein joins us to talk about his new book, "Children of the New World: Stories." It's a gathering of short stories that one critic, in a starred review in Booklist, has called "mind-blowing.... In the vein of George Saunders, Rick Bass, and Alex Shakar, Weinstein writes with stirring particularity, unfailing sensitivity, and supercharged imagination, creating nuanced stories harboring a molten core of astutely satirical inquiries. Sparking disquieting thoughts about how vulnerable our brains are to electronic manipulation and how eventually consciousness itself might be colonized by corporate and governmental entities, Weinstein's brilliantly original, witty, and provocative tales explore the malleability of memory and self, the fragility of intimacy and nature, forging a ravishingly powerful, cautionary vision."