FEMA to assist Oklahoma

Oklahoma City – OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) Gov. Brad Henry says the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved his request for disaster assistance for 10 counties hit by tornadoes and storms in May.

Counties included in Friday's declaration are Alfalfa, Cleveland, Grant, McIntosh, Major, Noble, Okfuskee, Osage, Pottawatomie and Seminole.

The approval comes after nine other counties were approved earlier for disaster assistance as a result of the May 10-13 severe weather.

The governor says in a news release that the approval makes federal funding available to cities, counties and rural electric cooperatives. The money can be used for infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with responding to the storms.