Feds Approve Disaster Aid for 3 Oklahoma Counties

Jun 27, 2013

Tornado damage at Moore, Oklahoma
Credit Facebook

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — The White House has approved disaster aid for three additional Oklahoma counties affected by last month's storms.

Governor Mary Fallin announced Wednesday that federal aid has been approved for residents and business owners in LeFlore, Okfuskee and Okmulgee counties who were affected by tornadoes, high winds and flooding in May.

Residents dealing with uninsured property damage in those three counties now will be eligible for assistance for things like housing repairs, temporary housing and low-interest loans to repair or replace damaged property.

Fallin says the federal government is still considering her request for aid for six other counties: Garvin, Grady, Hughes, Logan, Tulsa and Wagoner.

She says more than 200 homes in those nine counties sustained damage during May storms.