Disaster Assistance

Oklahoma City, OK – The U.S. Small Business Administration has announced that low-interest loans are available for small non-farm businesses affected by severe weather in 73 Oklahoma counties.

SBA Disaster Field Operations Center Director Alfred Judd said in a news release Friday that the loans are intended to offset economic losses since Jan. 1. The SBA says the losses were due to the combined effects of drought, wildfires, excessive heat, excessive rain, flooding, tornadoes, lightning, high winds, hail, blizzards and freezes.

Four counties in far northeastern Oklahoma are the only ones not eligible for the loans.

Small businesses in Crawford, Little River, Polk, Scott, Sebastian, Sevier counties in Arkansas are also eligible.

The deadline to apply is March 27, 2012.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press.