Latest Information:

book reviews

StudioTulsa
1:10 pm
Tue July 8, 2014

Books for Vacations, Escapes, and Getaways of All Kinds: Summer Reading Suggestions from Nancy Pearl

Aired on Tuesday, July 8th.
Illustration Credit: NPR

On this installment of ST, we welcome back Nancy Pearl, our longtime book reviewer. Nancy is a former librarian --- and former Tulsan --- who's also a bestselling author, editor, critic, and book advocate. She's also the former Executive Director of the Washington Center for the Book at the Seattle Public Library. She can be heard on NPR's Morning Edition, where she regularly offers good-reading tips, and her wide-ranging, well-researched recommendations have also been collected into the ongoing and highly popular "Book Lust" series of volumes.

Read more
StudioTulsa
2:14 pm
Tue June 24, 2014

"Hell with the Lid Blown Off" -- A Tornado-Driven Mystery Novel Set in Eastern Oklahoma in 1916

Aired on Tuesday, June 24th.

On this installment of ST, we speak by phone with Donis Casey, a mystery author and former librarian who is originally from Oklahoma and has been based in Arizona for many years. "Hell with the Lid Blown Off" -- the seventh title in Casey's popular Alafair Tucker series -- is newly available, and (as with the rest of Casey's fiction) this novel draws heavily upon her Oklahoma roots...as well as the roots of her Sooner State relatives.

Read more
StudioTulsa
12:26 pm
Tue June 17, 2014

A Historical Novel Concerning the Shakers: "The Visionist"

Aired on Tuesday, June 17th.

On this installment of ST, we speak with Rachel Urquhart, a writer whose work has been published in The New Yorker, Tin House, Elle, The New York Times, Vogue, and Spy, among other publications. Urquhart has recently published her first novel, "The Visionist," which is a widely acclaimed historical drama about a teenage girl who finds refuge --- or perhaps does not find refuge --- in an 1840s Shaker community.

Read more
StudioTulsa
12:36 pm
Thu April 17, 2014

Author and Filmmaker Rebecca Miller Discusses "Jacob's Folly," Her Latest Novel

Aired on Thursday, April 17th.

On this edition of ST, we speak with Rebecca Miller, the acclaimed screenwriter, author, and filmmaker, who'll appear tonight (Thursday the 17th) at 7pm at a free-to-the-public Book Smart Tulsa event at the Circle Cinema. At this gathering, she'll be reading from and signing copies of her latest novel, "Jacob's Folly," which is just out in paperback; she'll also deliver an introduction before a screening of her 2009 film, "The Private Lives of Pippa Lee" (which she adapted from her novel of the same title).

Read more
StudioTulsa
4:24 pm
Wed April 2, 2014

A "Book Lust" Road Show! Our Esteemed Colleague Nancy Pearl Will Give a Talk at OU-Tulsa

Aired on Wednesday, April 2nd.

On this installment of ST, we are pleased to speak once again with the author, critic, former librarian, and die-hard book-lover Nancy Pearl, who's well-known for her frequent appearances on NPR's Morning Edition, her tireless championing of old or out-of-print titles, and her "Book Lust" series of books about books. Nancy used to live in Tulsa, and she's been the book reviewer for this program for 20+ years --- indeed, while she usually joins us by phone from her home in Seattle, this time around, Nancy is with us in the studio.

Read more
StudioTulsa
8:20 pm
Wed March 12, 2014

Noted Tulsa-Based Author Clifton Taulbert Offers "The Invitation"

Aired on Wednesday, March 12th.

Today on StudioTulsa, we chat with the esteemed Tulsa-based author and longtime public-speaker and businessman Clifton Taulbert, whose many books include "Once Upon A Time When We Were Colored," "The Last Train North," and "Eight Habits of the Heart." Taulbert joins us to discuss his newest book, a memoir called "The Invitation," which is just out from New South Books.

Read more
StudioTulsa
11:46 am
Tue January 14, 2014

"America, Its Language, and the Most Controversial Dictionary Ever Published" (Encore presentation.)

Aired on Monday, January 13th.

(Note: This program first aired last year.) On our show today, we speak by phone with David Skinner, an editor and writer whose work has appeared in The Weekly Standard, The Wall Street Journal, The New Atlantis, Slate, The Washington Times, and other publications.

Read more
StudioTulsa
5:38 pm
Wed December 18, 2013

Susan Nussbaum Offers the Moving, Challenging, and Dramatic "Good Kings Bad Kings: A Novel"

Aired on Wednesday, December 18th.

On this installment of ST, we speak by phone with Susan Nussbaum, an accomplished playwright, first-time novelist, and longtime disabilities-rights advocate. Nussbaum tells us about her widely acclaimed and award-winning debut novel, "Good Kings Bad Kings," which is just out in paperback, and which a critic for The Los Angeles Review of Books has called "a knockout.... Nussbaum possesses an astonishing ear for idiosyncratic voices, and a talent for creating characters who appear in full bloom within a few sentences.

Read more
StudioTulsa
5:23 pm
Tue December 10, 2013

Page-Turning Gift Ideas for the Holidays: Nancy Pearl Offers Can't-Miss Books to Give (or Request!)

Aired on Tuesday, December 10th.

On this edition of StudioTulsa, our old pal (and longtime book reviewer, and former Tulsan) Nancy "America's Librarian" Pearl returns with --- just in time for the holidays --- another list of outstanding literary recommendations. Whether you're keen on ficton or non-fiction, a YA novel or a thriller, a work of history or one of satire, Nancy has just the book you're looking for. . . . Here's the rundown of titles/authors that she shares with us on today's program:

Scott Anderson, "Lawrence in Arabia"

Read more
StudioTulsa
4:35 pm
Tue October 22, 2013

"Overland in Search of America, from Key West to the Arctic Ocean" (Encore presentation.)

Aired on Tuesday, October 22nd.

(Please note: This show first aired earlier this year.) Our guest is the celebrated American author, Philip Caputo, who was a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist in Chicago before going on to write several notable works of fiction, nonfiction, and memoir, including 1977's "A Rumor of War," one of the most highly praised and widely read volumes ever published on the Vietnam War.

Read more

Pages