book reviews

StudioTulsa
2:26 pm
Wed December 17, 2014

Alexander Graham Bell's Assistant, John Wayne's Stunt Man, and Various Other Remarkable "Sidekicks"

Alexander Graham Bell's Assistant, John Wayne's Stunt Man, and Various Other Remarkable "Sidekicks"

Alfred Hitchcock's longtime collaborator, Alexander Graham Bell's assistant, Vladimir Nabokov's wife, Muhammad Ali's first coach, Ernest Shackleton's right-hand man, John Wayne's stunt man, and the little-known sixth member of The Rolling Stones -- on this installment of ST, we're talking about some of the great "sidekicks" of modern history. Our guest is Julia Rothman, one of the editors of a new book called "The Who, the What, and the When: 65 Artists Illustrate the Secret Sidekicks of History," which is just out from Chronicle Books.

Read more
StudioTulsa
3:40 pm
Tue December 9, 2014

ST Book Critic Nancy Pearl Offers Some of Her Favorites of 2014

Aired on Tuesday, December 9th.

Nancy Pearl, author of the "Book Lust" series of recommended books and our longtime book reviewer here on StudioTulsa, joins us to discuss her favorite reads of 2014. Here's a complete list of the books she discussed with us on today's program:

"2 a.m. at the Cat's Pajamas" (Crown) by Marie-Helene Bertino -- This novel depicts 24 hours in the lives of nine-year-old aspiring jazz singer Madeleine Altimiri and her circle of acquaintances.

Read more
StudioTulsa
1:48 pm
Wed November 26, 2014

Getting to Know the Multi-Talented Tulsa-Area Author Stacy Nyikos -- and "Waggers"

Aired on Wednesday, November 26th.

On this edition on StudioTulsa, we offer an entertaining and wide-ranging chat with Stacy Nyikos, an author, writing teacher, and on-the-go mom who lives in Bixby.

Read more
StudioTulsa
3:23 pm
Mon October 13, 2014

A Historical Novel Concerning the Shakers: "The Visionist" (Encore presentation.)

Aired on Monday, October 13th.

(Note: This show first aired in June.) On this installment of ST, we speak with Rachel Urquhart, a writer whose work has been published in The New Yorker, Tin House, Elle, The New York Times, Vogue, and Spy, among other publications. Urquhart has recently published her first novel, "The Visionist," which is a widely acclaimed historical drama about a teenage girl who finds refuge --- or perhaps does not find refuge --- in an 1840s Shaker community.

Read more
StudioTulsa
12:37 pm
Wed September 24, 2014

An Update on the Renovation of the TCCL's Central Library in Downtown Tulsa

Aired on Wednesday, September 24th.

On this edition of our show, we welcome Gary Shaffer, CEO of the Tulsa City-County Library. The TCCL's Central Library, in the heart of downtown Tulsa, has recently entered its "public phase," with direct fund-raising appeals being made to the public to complete the mid-century-modern building's vast, thorough, and state-of-the-art renovation. Demolition of the building's interior is now complete; the actual construction of the new Central Library has begun.

Read more
StudioTulsa
12:11 pm
Tue September 2, 2014

"Love and Treasure: A Novel" (Encore Presentation.)

Aired on Monday, September 1st.

On this edition of ST, we listen back to an interview that we did in April with the novelist and essayist Ayelet Waldman (whose books include "Red Hook Road," "Love and Other Impossible Pursuits," "Daughter's Keeper," and "Bad Mother: A Chronicle of Maternal Crimes"). Waldman spoke with us about her then-new novel, "Love and Treasure," which has been thus summarized in Booklist: "Classics scholar Jack Wiseman, in the last throes of pancreatic cancer, entrusts an enamel locket to his granddaughter, imploring her to find the rightful owner. It's the only thing he's ever asked of her.

Read more
StudioTulsa
3:44 pm
Wed August 20, 2014

A Chat with Jack Gantos: Winner of the 2014 Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Readers’ Literature

Aired on Wednesday, August 20th.

The Tulsa Library Trust's Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Readers' Literature, inaugurated in 1991, aims to "give formal recognition, on behalf of the Tulsa County community, to nationally acclaimed authors who have made a significant contribution to the field of literature for children and young adults." Past winners of the Zarrow Award include Jim Murphy, Jacqueline Woodson, Jane Yolen, Gary Paulsen, Katherine Paterson, Madeleine L'Engle, and S.E. Hinton -- and this year, the highly deserving recipient of this award is Jack Gantos.

Read more
StudioTulsa
3:44 pm
Thu July 31, 2014

Murder and Scandal in Depression-Era America: "Quiet Dell: A Novel" by Jayne Anne Phillips

Aired on Thursday, July 31st.

On this edition of ST, we speak with Jayne Anne Phillips, the acclaimed fiction writer whose previous books include "Black Tickets," "Machine Dreams," and "Lark and Termite." In her newest book, just out in paperback, Phillips both explores and re-imagines a real crime that occurred in 1931, in a West Virginia town not far from where she herself grew up. Phillips tells us of this novel -- called "Quiet Dell" -- on today's program.

Read more
StudioTulsa
1:10 pm
Tue July 8, 2014

Books for Vacations, Escapes, and Getaways of All Kinds: Summer Reading Suggestions from Nancy Pearl

Aired on Tuesday, July 8th.
Illustration Credit: NPR

On this installment of ST, we welcome back Nancy Pearl, our longtime book reviewer. Nancy is a former librarian --- and former Tulsan --- who's also a bestselling author, editor, critic, and book advocate. She's also the former Executive Director of the Washington Center for the Book at the Seattle Public Library. She can be heard on NPR's Morning Edition, where she regularly offers good-reading tips, and her wide-ranging, well-researched recommendations have also been collected into the ongoing and highly popular "Book Lust" series of volumes.

Read more
StudioTulsa
2:14 pm
Tue June 24, 2014

"Hell with the Lid Blown Off" -- A Tornado-Driven Mystery Novel Set in Eastern Oklahoma in 1916

Aired on Tuesday, June 24th.

On this installment of ST, we speak by phone with Donis Casey, a mystery author and former librarian who is originally from Oklahoma and has been based in Arizona for many years. "Hell with the Lid Blown Off" -- the seventh title in Casey's popular Alafair Tucker series -- is newly available, and (as with the rest of Casey's fiction) this novel draws heavily upon her Oklahoma roots...as well as the roots of her Sooner State relatives.

Read more

Pages