Tulsa County Burn Ban Lifted

Oklahoma City, OK – Fallin lifts burn ban for 16 Okla. counties

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) Gov. Mary Fallin has lifted a state burn ban for 16 northeast Oklahoma counties, but she cautioned that local bans still remain in effect for some counties.

Fallin officially lifted the governor's burn ban Tuesday for Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Delaware, Kay, Mayes, Muskogee, Nowata, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Rogers, Sequoyah, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington counties. But she noted that county commissioners have enacted local bans for Okmulgee, Osage, Sequoyah and Wagoner counties.

She initially announced the action last week.

A governor's burn ban remains in effect for 61 other counties where a high fire danger exists because of severely dry conditions.

The burn ban doesn't allow campfires, fireworks and the burning of trash or other debris. Charcoal grilling is OK, but must be done at least five feet from flammable vegetation.