Terelton Fire Update

Oklahoma City, OK – Fallin says 2 Okla. counties eligible for aid

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) Two Oklahoma counties ravaged by recent wildfires have been declared disaster areas by the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Gov. Mary Fallin announced Wednesday that Oklahoma and Pawnee Counties received the federal designation. The declaration is for the Oklahoma County fires that occurred Aug. 30 through Sept. 1, and the Pawnee County fires from Aug. 7-14. Under the declaration, Fallin says 11 contiguous counties also are eligible for assistance.

The designation provides low-interest SBA loans for repairing or replacing uninsured property damaged by the fires.