State of Emergency

Oklahoma City, OK – Fallin declares emergency after severe Okla storms

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) Gov. Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency in 11 Oklahoma counties following tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding.

Fallin issued the declaration Wednesday for Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Haskell, LeFlore, McCurtain, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Ottawa, Pittsburg and Sequoyah counties.

Over the past week, Oklahoma has experienced at least three tornadoes and widespread flooding. East-central areas of the state have received 10 to 13 inches of rain. Some homes and businesses as well as many roads and bridges sustained heavy damage.

Under the emergency order, state agencies can make purchases and acquisitions on an emergency basis to expedite the delivery of resources to local governments. The declaration also marks a first step toward seeking federal assistance if needed.