Shannon Set to be Formally Elected Oklahoma House Speaker

Jan 8, 2013

Shannon set to be formally elected Okla. speaker

T.W. Shannon
Credit State of Oklahoma-File photo

Currently the speaker-elect, Shannon is expected to be approved when the Legislature meets Tuesday for its annual organizational day. The new 72-member strong House Republican caucus already has voted unanimously to elect Shannon as speaker, and Tuesday's vote is a formality. Enid Rep. Mike Jackson is slated to be approved as the speaker pro tem, while House Democrats are expected to retain Del City Rep. Scott Inman as their minority leader.

On the Senate side, Sapulpa Republican Sen. Brian Bingman is scheduled to be voted into another term as Senate president pro tem, while Claremore Democratic Sen. Sean Burrage is set to serve again as Senate minority leader.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press.