More Federal Help for Storm Victims

Tulsa, OK – Gov. Brad Henry announced today that more Oklahoma counties have been approved for federal disaster aid to assist with infrastructure damage and response costs related to the Christmas Eve blizzard and the January 28 ice storm.

The following 25 counties were approved for public assistance for the Christmas Eve blizzard: Alfalfa, Beckham, Bryan, Caddo, Carter, Cherokee, Creek, Dewey, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Kiowa, LeFlore, Logan, Mayes, McCurtain, McIntosh, Osage, Pawnee, Pittsburg, Roger Mills, Seminole, Wagoner, Washington and Washita. On Feb. 25, the White House approved a declaration delivering public assistance to an initial 29 counties.

The following 24 counties were approved for public assistance for the Jan. 28 ice storm: Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Canadian, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Custer, Garvin, Grant, Lincoln, Logan, Major, Mayes, Murray, Nowata, Okfuskee, Ottawa, Pawnee, Rogers, Sequoyah, Texas, Wagoner and Washington. On March 5, an initial 25 counties were approved for public assistance related to the ice storm.

The announcement means federal funding is now available to assist local governments with repairs to roads, bridges and public facilities, debris removal as well as the costs associated with responding to the ice storm and blizzard. Preliminary damage estimates exceed $100 million on the two winter storms.