Federal Aid for Ice Storm

Oklahoma City, OK – White House approves aid request for ice storm

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) The White House has approved Gov. Brad Henry's request for a major disaster declaration for the Jan. 28 ice storm.

Under the declaration issued Friday, 25 counties will receive public assistance for expenses related to response to and recovery from the winter storm that left 179,000 homes and businesses, mainly in southern Oklahoma, without power at one point.

Preliminary damage estimates from the storm exceed $69 million, and surveys are continuing. Henry's office says as they reach the federal threshold for relief, a request will be made to add additional counties to the disaster declaration.

Counties included in the declaration are: Alfalfa; Caddo; Cleveland; Comanche; Cotton; Delaware; Dewey; Ellis; Grady; Greer; Harmon; Haskell; Hughes; Jackson; Kiowa; LeFlore; McClain; Muskogee; Okmulgee; Pontotoc; Pottawatomie; Roger Mills; Seminole, Stephens and Washita.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press.