Aide Expanded

Oklahoma City, OK – 2 more Okla. counties to get disaster assistance

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) State officials say two more counties have been added to a disaster declaration issued for parts of Oklahoma that were affected by the May 10-13 outbreak of severe storms.

The Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management said Friday federal disaster assistance has been extended to Creek and Garvin counties as a result of severe storms, tornadoes and straight-line winds.

Carter, Cleveland, McIntosh, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Pottawatomie and Seminole counties were initially under the disaster declaration signed by President Obama on Monday.

Officials say assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the storms and tornadoes.